ghost girl - a journal - clix me
2003-01-27 - Sleep is one of my favorite things
After a while you inevitably get tired of writing for yourself and want to see what other people think of you. So I submitted myself for review with a few review sites, and sat back to wait. I didn't honestly expect that I'd necessarily get a good review, because my design is fairly plain compared to many, I don't have tons of extras, and my writing is mostly dreary and depressing. It gave me a smile to discover I scored 94/100 on Our Reviews - cool! (I don't know if I really need a guestbook since I have notes, but only people on diaryland can leave a note so perhaps I should. Someone suggested a notify list, but I'm not sure anyone would actually join it.)

Today, I am hungry but there's nothing in the house. Well nothing that doesn't require energy expended to cook it. I'm eating a banana, I can cope with peeling something. I feel heavy and tired and uninspired.

Last night I had a dream in which I recognized a person from a previous dream, one I had months and months ago, but it didn't prompt me to realize I might be dreaming again. I used to get lucid dreams often, ones where I'd realize I was dreaming and be able to take control of them, stroke a cat and be fascinated by how real it felt, how entirely like a cat. I haven't had a dream like that in a year or more.

I like to dream. I enjoy the world of dreams more than real life, I think. I like the disjointed logic of them, the David Lynch feel, the way colors and objects merge and stairs lead to places you can't normally reach.

Sleep is one of my favorite things.


previous / next

step back:
Emigration, anyone? - 2004-09-25 . . . Right-wing, left-wing, chicken-wing (on global media) - 2004-09-23 . . . Benefit rant - 2004-09-21 . . . Smile, but mostly pissed - 2004-09-17 . . . Words from the edge of consciousness - 2004-09-12 . . .