ghost girl - a journal - clix me
2004-04-21 - on daydreams, and the continuity of the self
What do you day dream of?

I daydream of you; of your answer when I ask you this; of whether you will tell me the truth, or change the subject. Of your eyes. Of your hands. Of what has never been, of what could perhaps be.

I search my mind for what else I dream of; answers are obscure.

Do I dream of a future self, a poet perhaps, someone who has emerged from the fog? But she is not me; and I am not the girl of fifteen, twenty years before. I see her through a glass, darkly, that girl. She has never looked up and called to me; I was not a part of her, and her tendrils in me are deeply buried, too deep for me to examine and untangle.

Who were you back then? It saddens me that I am cut off forever from so much of you, of who you were for so many years. That is why, perhaps, I so want to know all of you now, to absorb everything I can and fix you in my memory as full as you are, before you have drifted away and all I have of you are the memories I can conjure.

You are not a memory I ever want to be buried.


previous / next

step back:
Emigration, anyone? - 2004-09-25 . . . Right-wing, left-wing, chicken-wing (on global media) - 2004-09-23 . . . Benefit rant - 2004-09-21 . . . Smile, but mostly pissed - 2004-09-17 . . . Words from the edge of consciousness - 2004-09-12 . . .