ghost girl - a journal - clix me
2004-07-20 - Watching to distraction
Things that help:

New addictions.

Generally, TV programs that allow you to get sufficiently distracted from life. They need to be on video or DVD so you can watch episodes end on end all day - for a while it was Buffy, but I have the final half of the final season left to go and moved to a house with no TV and the Buffy video owner loaned out the last box to someone else, and by the time I'll get to watch it I've sort of lost the Buffy atmosphere.

I'm preferring 24 right now. At the end of every episode you just HAVE to watch another episode because it's too damn tense not to. 24 episodes takes me about 4 days. Excellent distraction from the cares of everyday life.

When 24 is over and it's another late night with insomnia, Late Night Poker has become the thing to watch. (I am currently not in the house with no TV, obviously. I went "home" to have a "rest.") Seven days ago I didn't know the first thing about poker. And now I still wrapped up in the excitement of actually understanding what is going on. Who'd have thought.

I feel a change of design coming on. I also feel a need for a new computer coming on because the Sims 2 is coming out in September and this machine won't handle it very well. Forget TV - The Sims 2 will be the ultimate in distraction from life.

I can't wait.


previous / next

step back:
Emigration, anyone? - 2004-09-25 . . . Right-wing, left-wing, chicken-wing (on global media) - 2004-09-23 . . . Benefit rant - 2004-09-21 . . . Smile, but mostly pissed - 2004-09-17 . . . Words from the edge of consciousness - 2004-09-12 . . .