ghost girl - a journal - clix me
2004-03-30 - spring sprung
I spoke with you last night; today, it is sunny.

Have you been outside? said the voice on the radio. Spring has sprung! Spring has sprung, and there is a new law under which your neighbor can coerce you to trim a certain kind of hedge. Spring has sprung, trim your hedge, and are doctors prescribing too many happy pills?

You're my happy pill.

You talked to me last night. You confessed small truths as though they were sins. It's a terrible thing to say, you said, and it wasn't - it was sanity, it was explanation, it was a sigh of relief. Before that, I did not understand. It was wilfull, it was pointless suffering, it was absurd.

I wonder why you didn't tell me this before; I wonder why you can think it's a terrible thing to say.

In some ways it's a relief to know she doesn't love you; in other ways it is just another kind of pain.

You deserve so much more; and as for me, I count slowly passing years.


previous / next

step back:
Emigration, anyone? - 2004-09-25 . . . Right-wing, left-wing, chicken-wing (on global media) - 2004-09-23 . . . Benefit rant - 2004-09-21 . . . Smile, but mostly pissed - 2004-09-17 . . . Words from the edge of consciousness - 2004-09-12 . . .