ghost girl - a journal - clix me
2002-12-09 - Falling in dream caves
Last night I dreamed of caves reaching into the bowels of the earth, filled with stalagmites and stalagtites and pools of dark dank water. It was a school trip. The paths were wet as we wound our way down, slippery and thin, and we were told to form a line and hold tight to the hand of the person next to us. I must have been at the end, or perhaps I just didn't hold the hand of the person behind me. In front of me was a girl named Yasmine with frizzy hair, who I never liked and who never liked me. We held hands reluctantly and made our way along in the dark, our backs against a rough wall of rock, and of course my feet slid and our eyes met and we let go of each others hand, and I plummeted into the darkness.

I tried to stay asleep, to dream myself hitting the bottom, but I woke up in spite of myself. A passing car shone a light across my ceiling then left me in silence and blackness again, and I lay for a few minutes before falling back to sleep. I don't remember what I dreamed after that.


previous / next

step back:
Emigration, anyone? - 2004-09-25 . . . Right-wing, left-wing, chicken-wing (on global media) - 2004-09-23 . . . Benefit rant - 2004-09-21 . . . Smile, but mostly pissed - 2004-09-17 . . . Words from the edge of consciousness - 2004-09-12 . . .